Don’t Be A Bystander

My sister, Alex, did something really brave yesterday, and I thought I would share her story. Especially because tomorrow is Spirit Day.  

I was walking with Brad* to my Spanish class and just before we went our separate ways, we say “Ciao” and he blows me a kiss.  There were some guys behind us snickering, and when Brad left, I tuned in on their conversation.  One guy said, “Did you hear the way that guy said ‘Ciao’, he’s totally gay.”  Another guy replied, “Yeah, he definitely gets it up the a**”.

Well I spun around on these guys and said, “Excuse me?”

The guy that made the “a**” comment basically shit his pants ran away, so I confronted his friends.

“Are you friends with that guy?”

“No, we have never spoken to him before in our lives,” they replied.  

Obviously they were embarrassed by their friend’s comment.  

“Tell your friend that that was disgusting and that he should respect others.”

Then I stormed off to class and talked to my friend about what had happened, since I was fuming.  We later spoke with the assistant principle who informed us that that comment can be considered bullying, so I filed a report against that guy.  

Later I called Brad and told him that if he got called down to the principal’s office, it would be because I filed a report regarding a derogatory comment some idiot guy made.  Brad wanted to know what happened so I told him, and then he said he appreciated that I stood up for him.  

But I wasn’t just standing up for him.  No one should ever be spoken about in such a disgusting way, regardless of their sexuality.  

Needless to say, I am glad that I had said something.  All I want is that kid to not say something like that again.  

I’m really proud she had said something to support her friend.  

I have been in situations when my friends are being insulted behind their backs for various things, and I don’t say anything.  I know that speaking up is a really hard thing to do sometimes, especially when you’re outnumbered.  But at the same time, it isn’t..at least it isn’t physically.  You just have to open your mouth and speak your mind.  It’s fearing the retaliation that gets to me, and I’m sure it is what gets to other people as well.   

If someone is being talked about behind their back and you don’t like what they’re saying, or if someone is being directly bullied/harassed and you are there, it is important to say something.  

Stop Bullying.  Don’t Be A Bystander.  

*name has been changed, mostly because I’m unsure how to spell his actual name

5 thoughts on “Don’t Be A Bystander

      1. No problem. I can’t believe I just found out two weeks ago. Allies are so important to the LGBT(A) community, and I consider them an integral part of that community. Best Regards.

  1. Great post! And also, your sister is brave. I wish I were that brave in high school, and even at 27, I could learn to be a better ally in such situations.

    1. thank u, and yes, she is. i admire her…being an ally can be very hard and scary sometimes…so i completely understand. even as a member of the lgbtq community, i’m scared to speak up. anyway, thank u for reading 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

