“Then That Person Is A Tranny And Needs To Seek Psychological Help”

We were simply discussing Macbeth.  Then the discussion transformed into sex changes and…some foul-mouthed girl shouted her offensive opinion as seen above, which quickly led my english teacher to change the subject.

I bit my tongue, refraining from saying something in retaliation.  I wanted to say something along the lines of “that is offensive and inappropriate”…but when my teacher changed the subject and everyone moved on….I felt like it was too late.

But it wasn’t.  If the girl can attack transgender individuals, then I can defend them.

I really should have said something.  I told my little sister about it after school, who I consider to be a HUGE LGBTQ advocate and supporter, and she agreed that I should have said something right then and there.  But she also suggested that I should not let it go and that I speak with my teacher about how the remark was ignored tomorrow.  (my little sister is wiser beyond her years).

Yeah, my teacher didn’t say something horribly disgusting like what the girl said, but by ignoring the statement, my teacher is not stopping discrimination either.  My teacher’s opinion on transgender individuals is irrelevant.  She should have said that what the girl said is offensive and inappropriate, regardless of her opinion.

This is not the first time the girl has had an outburst of slurs.  She has made racial slurs as well.

Tomorrow I plan on talking to my teacher about this…we have these neon green posters in all the classrooms that say “in this class we do not discriminate others based on their religion, sexuality…etc etc”  and the girl’s remark broke that code.  My teacher broke that code by not standing up.  I broke that code by not standing up.

Being a bystander to hate and discrimination is no better than being the bully.

Although it would have been better if I had said something then, I will say something tomorrow so when the girl makes a slur again (which I’m sure she will), hopefully my teacher will think twice before simply ignoring it.

3 thoughts on ““Then That Person Is A Tranny And Needs To Seek Psychological Help”

  1. I wish this teacher had done the right thing and turned this into a teachable moment for the entire class… actually the teacher did… not saying anything is the same as condoning such thoughts and actions and now everyone in class will see it as acceptable as well. I hope, in speaking up you can do what should have been done the first time and show a single person can stand up for those who cannot do so for themselves.

  2. Yes, your teacher should have done the right thing but didn’t. Let e pick apart the slur and give the advice you asked for over on my site.. First the term “tranny” is offensive and one of those words you only get to use if you are transgender yourself. Second the therapy involved in transitioning from male to female or female is used to assist the person in going through the process and not because they are mentally ill. Imagine looking at your body and realizing it doesn’t fit with what you know to be your gender – of course you need help from people who can hep you reconcile body and mind and go through the medical intervention to “make things right.” If there are mental health issues it is because of the prejudice, bullying and violence you face daily from ignorant people like the classmate you mentioned. Transgender people will and do flourish and become a wonderful part of the human mosaic; all they need from families, friends and classmates is love, respect and understanding.

Leave a Reply

