Heidi (part 1 of 3)

I slammed my hand on my ringing alarm clock and rolled over onto my side. My eyes snapped open at the feeling of hair tickling my face.

Heidi.

I began to back away toward the end of the bed, but her hand reached out behind her back and grabbed the back of my left thigh, holding me in place. She turned onto her left side to face me and smiled, her auburn hair in a disarray above her head. I gulped.

“Some night, huh?” she whispered, brushing her hand down my cheek to my chin. I stared at her wide-eyed, mortified.

Her eyes narrowed.

“What’s wrong?”

“I, uhh…” I stuttered, looking everywhere but into her green eyes. “I…I uhh”

My phone began to ring and I laid on my back to snatch it. “Yeah?” I said, staring up at the ceiling.

“Ange, what’s wrong?” she repeated, tugging lightly on my arm. I ignored her.

“Now?” I asked into the phone, my heart falling as I agreed to the person’s request on the other side of the line.

“Angela,” Heidi whined.

I hung up the phone and stood up, taking the sheets with me. “Get dressed, Heidi. I need to go.”

“Where are you going?” she asked, still lying in my bed.

I ignored her.

“Ange.”

I made the mistake of glancing at her as I digged for clean clothes off my floor. My eyes didn’t want to look away, and I gulped when she caught me staring at her. She smiled and shifted into a more seductive position on her side. “Better?” she asked, smirking.

I closed my eyes and violently shook my head, willing my mind to relinquish the image of her naked body in my bed.

“I need to go out,” I grumbled through clenched teeth. I hurriedly put on panties and a bra and threw the covers back onto the bed without looking at it. “You need to get dressed.”

“You need, you need, you need. You needed gas money, so I gave it to you. You needed help paying the rent, so I gave you money for that too. You needed me last night, so I came. And now you need me to go, but I’m not just gonna leave without knowing what the hell is going on with you because I need an explanation. I need one. I deserve one.”

I gaped at her and then shut my mouth, only to reopen it. I was at a loss for words, and once again, an outside distraction saved me.

I tried to ignore the banging on my apartment door. I wanted to say what she deserved to know, only the banging became more insistent.

“Are you gonna get that?” she asked. I shook my head and stared at the floor, finally realizing what it meant to be stuck between a rock and a hard place.

“Fuck it, I’ll get it then,” Heidi said. I watched as she stood up, her auburn curls falling onto her pale shoulders. She moved to grab her clothes but opted for my robe inside my closet. I looked away as she headed for the front door.

I heard her pad down the hall and then open the door. I sat down on the bed, my head in my hands. I already knew who it was.

“Sorry, I forgot my key again and I know…” I heard a deep voice say. “Wait, who are you?” It asked.

“Who are you?” Heidi challenged.

“Daniel,” a deep voice replied.

“Well I’m Angela’s girlfriend,” she snapped.

There was an uncomfortable pause and then I heard Daniel’s boots thud across the living room and then they finally stopped in my bedroom.

“What the fuck is going on,” he demanded rather than asked. “Who’s this bitch?”

I looked at him through my fingers. “She’s my ex-girlfriend,” I mumbled.

He clenched his jaw. “Really.”

I nodded slowly.

“So is this who’ve you been cheating on me with? And you live with him?” Heidi interjected shrilly.

He laughed bitterly. “Angela may be into girls but I doubt she’s into incest.”

I watched Heidi’s tense face collapse into a confused one. “What do you mean?”

“He’s my step- brother,” I explained.

“When mom finds out…” Daniel began.

“She’s not going to,” I snapped. “Heidi and I are over. And I have a brunch date this morning. Which I’m going to be late for.”

I got up and searched in my closet for a dress and quickly threw it over my head. “You all need to get out.”

Daniel looked like he might pick a fight with me but then he resigned and headed to his room. Heidi remained motionless, just standing in the doorway. For the first time since I had known her, she looked heartbroken.

“Who’s the date?” she asked quietly.

I shrugged. “Just some guy I’ve been seeing. I met online.”

She nodded her head, her eyes rolling up to the ceiling. “So your family is the reason you didn’t want anyone to know about us.”

“You deserve to be with someone who will take you to meet her parents.”

Heidi looked straight into my eyes then, unblinking.

“Don’t go,” she pleaded.

“I’ve already kept him waiting for too long.”

“But I need you, Angela. You may have a lot of needs, but you’re the only thing that I need. And I don’t want to lose you again. I can’t.”

I didn’t realize that she had walked right up to me until she touched my hand. I closed my eyes and took a few deep breaths, calming my pounding heart.

“Sorry, Heidi…but I can’t do this.”

I walked out, leaving my love with a broken heart.

Giving myself a stone heart.

© 2012 VicRomero

11 thoughts on “Heidi (part 1 of 3)

      1. that’ll be cool…i hear it’s such a…an empowering and accomplished feeling…and all other positive feelings…to have something published. i’ll be looking forward to it 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

