How Much Longer?

How long will it be until I can talk to them
And be unafraid of what they’ll say?
Unafraid of what they’ll think?
Will they ever be okay
With who I am?
Will we ever have that explosive conversation again
Where we both just yelled and cried at each other?
Is she still convinced that she’s a bad mother?
Will they ever understand?
Or will they spew disgusting things again
And accuse me of being brainwashed?

How long will it be for me to feel like I’m at home when I am home?
How long will I continue to live with people that claim to love me but still feel alone?

How long will it be until we come to terms?
Is there an easy way to do this?
Is there a way to make them understand without hurting them?
Without them hurting me?
Should I just leave?

© 2014 Vic Romero

Leave a Reply

