Summer Projects 2014

Hello, all

I haven’t been writing much lately, I barely even write little story/poem ideas in my phone anymore.  My friend from Opuss named Pat once told me that writing is for the solemn, and since I am not solemn so much because of all this change that I have endured during my final year of high school…I have become more comfortable with myself, I made friends, I found love…I haven’t been as interested in writing because I want to live.  The only things I have written really are solemn posts about my parents.  But I don’t want the struggles that I have with my parents to be what my website, “Unzip These Lips”, becomes.  I have lost sight of being creative…writing more than just my emotions.  I have stopped creating alternate worlds with a rainbow variety of characters that are trying to solve crimes, find love…etc.

The past few days my fingers have been twitching, desiring to write again.  I didn’t know what I wanted to write but after some thought, I have some project ideas to keep me preoccupied when I’m home and have some time to relax.  So…here are the ideas…

1. My best friend, Rachel, just flew to China this morning to visit her family.  She’s going to be there for most of the summer and because we’re both going off to college in different states, I don’t know when I’ll see her again.  I’m planning on emailing her, which is something that we’ve partaken in almost every summer since middle school so…I was thinking about posting some of my emails here.  I want my website to consist of everything that I am…and documentation of recent events in my life is part of who I am, along with creative stories and poetry…and any other medium that I can think of.  The series of emails will be called “Letters To Rachel” (I know, so creative) and there’s not going to be a schedule for them because I don’t know how frequently we’ll email.  If we don’t email for awhile though I may just write some blogs every now and again solely for my website.

2. The last official project idea I have is to write a mystery series.  Last summer I was involved in a couple of projects with other writers from Opuss where we passed the mystery story around and added parts accordingly…this summer I want to try to write a whole story, from beginning to finish, myself.  I feel like I began my interest in writing because of my love of books, and when I began writing it was initially stories so…I want to continue that.  I’ll try publishing a part of the mystery every other week, I’m not sure what day yet.

My unofficial projects are to write poetry that isn’t solely based on my personal moods.  I want to write creative poetry as well.

Anyway…just thought I would share this all.  By writing it down I feel like I’m committing too so…hopefully I can commit.

I hope you all are having a great summer so far and have a fantastic July Fourth tomorrow!

-Vic

2 thoughts on “Summer Projects 2014

Leave a Reply

