Real Talk (Memory #3)

I sat across my best friend, who’s head was bent over her coffee as she thought.  Meanwhile I was shoveling huge quantities of the delicious chocolate chip pancakes that the diner in our neighboring town made.

“I feel like your ex…and my ex…they’re sort of the same,” she realized, furrowing her eyebrow.  “They both just need to grow up.”

I nodded as I swallowed my food.  “At least he had the decency to see you face to face though.  We dated for seven months and she didn’t even call me, she just sent me a text!  I asked to talk to on the phone with her too,” I said.

My best friend shook her head sympathetically.  “I’m going to be honest…when you said you got back together with her I didn’t think it was a good idea.  She never treated you well.”

“It’s probably because she doesn’t know how to treat herself.  But…I got back together with her because it was what I wanted at the time and she helped me transition into college a little bit…we used to talk everyday on the phone when I was in school it was really nice.  Things change though, and this is probably for the better anyway,” I concluded.

“Yeah, it is,” she agreed, and on that note, we changed the subject.

Leave a Reply

