Morg

I threw my head back and swallowed another shot, making a face as it went down.  My head lolled to the side and I giggled along with everyone else.  My eyes made contact with hers, my face flushed.

“When is the bus coming, Amy?” she asked, breaking our brief connection.

“Twenty minutes,” Amy replied soberly.  “This huge bottle is so unnecessary,” she laughed.

Then we all started laughing again.

“More shots!” I hollered suddenly, slapping my glass onto the ground.

“Okay, okay,” she slurred, brushing my hand casually as she took my glass.

“Whoo,” I muttered, trying to focus on her blurring image rather than the shock from the unexpected contact.

She stuck the glass out to me when she finished pouring.  “Here.”

I blindly thrust my arm out but was too far away to grab the glass.

“Come here!” she ushered, giggling as I moaned in despair.

Crawling on my arms and legs, I made my way beside her and thanked her for the drink before slurping it down.

“Maybe you shouldn’t have had that,” she smiled slyly.  I shrugged.

The door creaked open and Megan shyly poked her head in.

“HEY!” I shouted, waving both my hands at her.  “YOU’RE HERE!!”

Amy shook her head and introduced the other girls to Megan.  Megan smiled at everyone and sat down, crossing her legs on the floor.

“More shotssss,” I insisted, making a swipe for the bottle, but she moved it out of my reach and blocked me with her arm.  “You need to relax,” she said.

Her arm was against my chest and it sent electric currents down my body, so I leaned into it more.  “You’re comfy,” I whispered before falling over onto her lap.

She laughed and then patted my head.  “You’re ridiculous.”

“Mmm-hmm…” I mumbled, trying to memorize the way her bleach blonde hair fell over her left eye as she leaned over me, and the way her eyelids sparkled from the Halloween glitter.  Then I closed my eyes, happy.

© 2014 Vic Romero

Leave a Reply

