Riot, Riot!

I rolled over in bed and smiled at her sleeping face. I had worn her out with all my chatter about nothing and everything, as we gorged on chocolate and poisoned ourselves with alcohol. Now, at 3:30am, she was finally sleeping. Her breathing was calm and slow, and her hands were clutching my blankets to her chest.

I turned away from her and closed my swollen eyes, feeling grateful that I had this kind of love in my life. It wasn’t romantic, but it was just as sweet.

© 2015 Vic Romero

Leave a Reply

