Summa Girls Come and Summa Girls Go

I’ve been on summer break for three weeks now, and it’s been a hodgepodge of days.

The first couple of days, I went on a cleaning rampage.  I’m still not done, but it’s coming along.  I’m trying to finish this Friday so I can spend the rest of the summer doing other things.

Then I went to Florida to help pack up my grandparents’ house to be sold.  It was a sad trip and it felt weird that none of them were there…but I found some cool photos and books that reflect my family history that I’ve kept.  It was also nice to go down there to enjoy the house one last time and to support my dad.  We took a couple trips to the beach too.

When I got back, I hung out with my friends.  On the first night we all reunited, I got hammered, and my friend had to drive me home and slept over since I drove her there.  It was really fun catching up with them, dancing, and acting like goons though.  Here are some unfortunate pictures of me looking psychotic:

11350711_374302442779846_8020438169719797550_n 11350428_374302476113176_3657502138582051117_n

That weekend we went to the beach, and it was possibly one of my favorite trips.  We had a few mishaps in the beginning, like my friend thought her phone flew out of the car, but everything fell into place (and she found her phone).  We went to my friend’s beach house and tanned, although it was a bit cold due to the wind.

11377209_375726982637392_9070580047025981741_n

We were going to go to a burrito place that was on Drive-Ins, Diners, and Dives, for dinner, but the one nearby had closed down, so we just ate at the boardwalk.  I got shit on by a bird, which was fabulous.  Afterwards, we went home and loitered in an empty parking lot, drinking and having deep conversations.  I didn’t drink because I had a background testing on Monday, and I wasn’t sure if there would be a drug test as well.  Then we watched Scream and fell asleep.  The following morning, my friend’s dad made a great breakfast and we had a breakfast party.  I didn’t leave my friend’s house until 1pm.  It was such a great weekend, I didn’t want it to end.

On Monday, I had my first day of training to be a Crisis Response Advocate.  I would be answering calls of people that have experienced sexual violence and provide them with information to enable them to make informed decisions.  I may be required to go to police stations or hospitals as well to facilitate the process of reporting interpersonal crimes.  I’m really excited about becoming a certified volunteer, but I will have to make up hours since the training is also on Saturdays.  Next Saturday I am going to a concert, and the following Saturday I have a mandatory training for my internship.

I’m also really excited about my internship!  I obtained it through a program that requires me to take a class in conjunction with my internship.  I will be a summer camp counselor for children ages 10-16 that are at risk for racism, drugs, and violence, doing an arts program.  This internship is sponsored by the Latino Center at my school, which is an organization that I’ve wanted to get more involved with, so hopefully I will make some awesome connections this summer.

That’s basically it for me!

Oh, my sister had her prom!  She looked beautiful, as always.  She’s the one in the dark purple dress.

11312944_932462046775317_1978279646558775920_o

I did her makeup for her, which I think came out pretty well 🙂

11391172_932460256775496_5221606817001619102_n

Anyway, I’m gonna head to bed so I can wake up early tomorrow morning.  Goodnight everyone!

-Vic

8 thoughts on “Summa Girls Come and Summa Girls Go

  1. Your sister looked so pretty, great makeup too. Nice to see classy looking dresses. Also it’s good luck to get pooped on by a bird. Glad to see you having some fun

    1. yeah, all the girls she was with looked really nice. haha well i think some unfortunate person that got shit on all the time made up “getting shit on is good luck” bs lol thank u, it’s nice to be having some fun 🙂

      1. I got pooped on once before going into a club and they check everyone’s ID. And they never asked for mine so that was good luck just not the part when the bird pooped it landed in my hair lmao

Leave a Reply

