Airplanes

I made a wish last night on an airplane,
Since the city lights tend to conceal the shooting stars
I wished that I could forget everything
And just be wherever you are…

But no matter how many planes fly,
Or how tightly I cross my fingers,
If I keep on wishing,
I’ll only find myself unsuccessful and bitter
Because wishes don’t come true when made upon planes,
Nor do they come true upon stars
The whole concept of wishing is merely a fallacy
Although the idea makes for a lovely fantasy

So I’ll leave my wishing alone for now,
It’ll have to come true by my own means, somehow.

© 2012/2013 Vic Romero

Leave a Reply

