Love Bites (ep. 2): Sweet(ish) F(ish)

The nights when I almost released my tether
To fly high over the moon
Talking myself in and out of sanity
About my impending doom

His baritone anchored me safely to earth
Swaddling me
Comforting
His baritone made me feel like I was his universe
Talking to me
Listening

The mornings when I almost crashed to the ground
Because I didn’t pull open my parachute
My head pounding in sync with my heart
About my hopeless bloom

His baritone anchored me safely to earth
Swaddling me
Comforting
His baritone made me feel like I was his universe
Talking to me
Listening

Then the nights woke up
And the mornings fell asleep
Because all good things end
Once it’s broken, it’s difficult to repeat

But I’m grateful that his baritone was there to anchor me
And swaddle me when I was cold
I’m grateful that he provided me with such comfort
When I was all alone
I’m grateful that he made me feel important
And for those mornings when he serenaded me to sleep
I’m grateful that we openly conversed
I will fondly treasure these memories.

xNJx

© 2015 Vic Romero

I decided to write a poem for this installment instead of a story. Here is the first and second stories of the Love Bites series.  The final installment will be posted in two weeks on Monday, 24 August 11am.

One thought on “Love Bites (ep. 2): Sweet(ish) F(ish)

Leave a Reply

