done waiting

liquid runs through my bony fingers and drips to the floor it feels warm in my hands and heavy i try to hold it steady as it continues to beat as it continues to pound in my fragile hands which pull it towards my chest and i feel it throb against my body ignoring the fluid drizzling down
down
down
through my broken fingers as it rests in my shaking hands i admire every crevice and wrinkle and admire its tenderness but how it still feels strong and how for once holding this to me doesn’t feel wrong its pulsating vibrations syncing with my own and i continue to ignore the warm trickle through the cracks between my defrosting fingers

allowing this heart to warm me up

© 2015 Vic Romero

Leave a Reply

