Love Bites (ep. 1): Act I, Scene 1

I sit on the ground, oblivious to the craziness around me, solely admiring his dorky grin and the way he engages with the kids.  He starts flexing, daring one of the kids to hang onto his arms to prove his strength.  The kid stands up and grabs onto his forearms.  Then the moment of truth: the kid’s feet leave the ground and he is still standing, tall and proud.  The kid is amazed by his superhero- strength and I feel a little impressed myself.

As he sits back down in the circle, his warm eyes catch mine and his smile widens.  My heart flutters.

The rest of the class passes by quickly.  As I follow my kids out of the door, serving as the caboose of the line, I hang back a little to talk to him.

“So, are you going to come hang out with us next Tuesday?” I ask cooly.

“I can’t, it’s going to be my birthday,” he explains.  I attempt not to look disappointed.  “The following one I can try, though.”

I nod silently.

He gives me a heart-shattering grin.  “I’ll text you,” he says.

“Sounds like a plan,” I say as he bows and I exit.

End scene.

© 2015 Vic Romero

This is the final installment of the Love Bites series.  Read the other parts below:

2: “Sweet(ish) F(ish)

3: “What’s Your Name Again?

4: “Simply Peachy

Leave a Reply

