Vic’s European Vacation: Day 2: London on 48 Hours Without Sleep

I slept two hours on the plane, despite being exhausted from the night before due to only five hours of sleep and then popping Benadryl on the plane.

We couldn’t check into the hotel until 3pm unfortunately, so we explored Kensington, which was the part of London where we stayed.


This is one of the first things I did in London. It was this market called Portobello Market and they had many clothing and food vendors. It was the largest market I’ve seen! It went down for blocks!

London is pretty cool so far.  There are a ton of punks and I love it, I feel like I fit right in.  I saw a punk couple in this area…the guy had a huge spiky mohawk and the girl had blue or green hair.  I wanted to take a photo of them because I felt like they were such a photogenic couple with their leather, studs, and Docs…but I didn’t.  Perhaps I’ll take photos of Londoners the next time I travel to London!

Then we went to Kensington Palace.

Here is me after being awake for nearly 48 hours and not having showered nor brushed my teeth. But I was just excited to be in London.


This is the palace gardens which has been converted into a public park. This is only the garden part, there are other fields.


This is the King’s Quarters and it reminded me of the Gilded Age mansions. It was huge and we were only able to go through 1/3 of the palace.

After this excursion, it was finally 3pm so we went back to the hotel and I had a glorious shower and brushed my teeth! Then I napped for two hours and my roomie woke me up for the pub crawl.

Here is my first fish and chips at the first pub on our group orientation pub crawl. It came with mashed peas, it was yummy 😛

I had two beers and cider, but didn’t get past feeling tipsy, unfortunately. Some people went to a club afterwards, but I went to bed and had a glorious night’s rest!
Tomorrow we’re going to tour London, I can’t wait!

xo Vic

3 thoughts on “Vic’s European Vacation: Day 2: London on 48 Hours Without Sleep

Leave a Reply

